Browse Items (65 total)

  • Tags: 1900s

lov0312.jpg
View looking east down Main Street from the Amherst House. Phoenix Row is in the left and Town Hall is on the right. The clock is not installed in the Town Hall tower.

lov0078_1.jpg
This house on Lessey Street was the home of Luke Sweetser, a prominent Amherst businessman. After he died the Oak Grove School for Girls was run here. In 1903, it became the home of the Amherst College fraternity Phi Gamma Delta.

lov0053.jpg
This storefront showcases the business of Cady R. Elder, who was a dealer in kitchen furnishings (note the Crawford Ranges sign) and other items, like the lawnmowers shown in this image. The shop was located in Hunt's Block. Elder purchased Hunt's…

lov0052.jpg
This storefront view is part of an advertisement and showcases two different businesses on North Pleasant Street, Julius H. Trott, plumbing, and John Gordon, bicycle repair.

lov0051.jpg
This building, located on the line of New London Northern Railroad, was part of the Amherst Gas Company.

lov0050.jpg
View of the interior of Deuel's Drug Store showing the soda fountain and two employees. This image is part of an advertisement which states: "Guests of Amherst House are referred to Deuel's Drug Store, Amherst House block. Toilet articles of all…

lov0049.jpg
Pasture and herd of cows which belonged to Spring Farm on South Pleasant Street. The farm was run by Harry M. Whitaker.

lov0048.jpg
Farm house and barns belonging to Spring Farm, located about three miles from the Amherst House and 1 1/2 miles from the Notch on South Pleasant Street (possibly #466). The brochure states: "The farm comprises 122 acres, a continuous stretch of…

lov0047.jpg
View of the interior of the shop of Stanley A. Phillips on North Pleasant Street. This image is part of an advertisement. Visible in the shop are toilets, stoves, sinks, and a bathtub. The brochure states: "Plumbing of Amherst House lavatory was done…

lov0046.jpg
View of the drill hall with three cannons on the lawn. From Handbook of Amherst by Frederick H. Hitchcock (1894): The drill Hall was erected in 1883, at an expenditure of $6500. The Armory, at the right of the entrance, contains the arms furnished by…

lov0045.jpg
View of the Botanic Museum, Hatch Experiment Station Lab, and Durfee Plant House.

Tags: ,

lov0044.jpg
View of the barn, veterinary lab, and hospital stable at Massachusetts Agricultural College.

Tags: ,

lov0043.jpg
View of the dormitories and chapel/library at Massachusetts Agricultural College.

Tags: ,

lov0042.jpg
Game room at the Amherst House showcasing several pool tables.

lov0041.jpg
View of Arthur E. Hobart's farmhouse and barns. The brochure states: "The Amherst House is supplied with milk from A. E. Hobart's farm, situated on North Pleasant Street about two miles on main road from Amherst House. Farm comprises 60 acres with 30…
Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-json, omeka-xml, rss2